2022-2023 Competitive Coaches


 

Competitive Team Coach Name Email

U22-AA - (Barrie Jr. Sharks)

Ed Mauro

jrsharks@bwha.ca

U22-A

Todd Clarke

todd.clarke@bwha.ca

U18-1 (AA)

Marten Nagel

marten.nagel@bwha.ca

U18-2 (A)

Mike White

mike.white@bwha.ca

 

U18-3 (A)

Laurie Taylor-Bolton

laurie.taylor-bolton@bwha.ca

U18-4 (BB)

John Cotugno

john.cotugno@bwha.ca

U18-5 (B)

Steve Sayeau

steve.sayeau@bwha.ca

U15-1 (AA)

Duane Eldridge

duane.eldridge@bwha.ca

U15-2 (A)

Jason Rodd

jason.rodd@bwha.ca

U15-3 (BB)

Jason McKenna

jason.mckenna@bwha.ca

U15-4 (B)

Shawn Denomme

shawn.denomme@bwha.ca

U13-1 (AA)

Jason Willard

jason.willard@bwha.ca

U13-2 (A)

Nick Leigh

nick.leigh@bwha.ca

U13-3 (BB)

Sam Skwarchuk

sam.skwarchuk@bwha.ca

U13-4 (B)

John Philbrick

john.philbrick@bwha.ca

U11-1 (AA)

TBD

Coming Soon

U11-2 (A/BB/B)

TBD

Coming Soon

U9 (B)

TBD

Coming Soon

 *Coaches for our U22-A, U11 and U9 competitive teams will be selected and announced in April, 2022.

2022-2023 Competitive AA Coach Bio's


U22-AA Barrie Jr. Sharks - Head Coach: Ed Mauro

Ed Mauro has been the head coach of the Barrie Jr. Sharks since the 2018-19 season. He has dedicated over 20 years to coaching at all levels and age groups, with a focus on creating a team-first environment and winning culture. Ed’s attention to detail and dedication to player development has led to multiple league and tournament championships and an OMHA Championship.  Ed was drafted by the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds and has been a head instructor at Can Am Hockey School for 19 years.  His goal is to help his players get to the next level.

The Barrie Jr. Sharks team can be reached at jrsharks@bwha.ca

 


2022-2023 U18-AA Sharks - Head Coach: Marten Nagel

Marten Nagel has over 30 years of coaching experience at all levels, for both boys and girls. Marten has coached with our Sharks teams for 7 years - including as head coach of our U18-AA team (2021-22) U18-A (2019-20), and U18-BB team (2018-19). Marten has also served as a hockey association executive for 10 years (including as President and Technical Director) and is a level 3C referee with nearly 15 years of officiating experience.

Marten Nagel will continue to lead a U18-AA team that will be highly integrated with our Jr. Sharks U22-AA program, to push our high performance players to reach their full potential and prepare them for the next step on their hockey journey.

Marten can be reached at marten.nagel@bwha.ca

 


2022-2023 U15-AA Sharks - Head Coach: Duane Eldridge

In 2022-2023, Duane Eldridge will return for his third straight season as coach of our U15-AA team. Coach Eldridge has over 20 years of coaching and player development experience, that has included positions at the Novice A, Atom AA, Peewee AA, Bantam AA, and Intermediate AA levels. Duane led our Barrie Jr. Sharks (Intermediate AA) team from 2014 through 2018, during which time he helped over 20 players achieve their goal of moving on to play competitive USPORTS/NCAA hockey in Canada and the United States. Duane also has experience developing younger players when he was previously head coach of our Sharks Bantam AA team from 2010-2012, and was an assistant coach at the Ontario Winter Games in 2011.

Duane is passionate about player development and he has a proven history of assessing the player skills, drafting team and individual development plans, and successfully executing these plans to help players achieve their goals. His priority for the Bantam AA team will be to help 2006 and 2007-born players to continue developing the skills necessary to succeed at the elite competitive level, and to prepare them for the next step in their hockey careers.

Duane Eldridge can be reached at duane.eldridge@bwha.ca

 


2022-2023 U13-AA Sharks - Head Coach: Jason Willard

Jason Willard is a secondary school teacher who brings over 18 years of coaching experience for both boys and girls hockey. Jason has coached at various levels including the Junior Colts Program, U9-A, U10-A, U11-A, U18-AAA, and high school hockey. Most recently, Jason has spent the last three season with the Shark’s organization as head coach of U11-A, U11-AA and as assistant coach of U13-AA in 2021-22.

Jason provides a positive learning environment conducive to skill development and fun which has led to an three OMHA Finalist appearances including one Championship. Jason strives to develop strategies to best benefit the development of the individual, and the team. As a teacher and coach, he is a role model and an effective communicator. He continually focuses his attention and energy on developing and enhancing each player’s technical and team skills to prepare them to play at the highest level.

Jason Willard an be reached at jason.willard@bwha.ca


 

Questions about our 2022-2023 competitive program? Contact competitive@bwha.ca

RAMP Registration

Join thousands of association partners using RAMP Registration Solutions.

More Information

RAMP Official Assigning

#1 with Officials...for very good reasons.

More Information

RAMP Websites

Manage your identity from the palm of your hand to the top of your desk.

More Information

RAMP Team App

Keep your coaches, parents, athletes, and fans connected, seamlessly.

More Information